29 Feb

Networked Social Movements

First of all: hello class. I did not include a brief introduction like some of my fellow students, so I will quickly add something. My name is Rogelio Alejandro Lopez, and I am a first year grad student of Comparative Media Studies and a Research Assistant at the Center for Civic Media. My current projects include a study of the media strategies used by social movements today, such as immigrant’s rights movements, and also the general area of activism and social justice. I am taking the course to expand my knowledge on the dynamics of social movements, both for my research project and for personal growth.  My blog for the Center for Civic Media can be found at civic.mit.edu.

The broad themes that I was able to stitch together from these week’s readings are: 1) there are many dynamics and dimensions that comprise social movements and consequently 2) there are…

View original post 570 more words

Leave a Reply

